Praying Scripture for the Glory of God!

I’m not a big liturgy guy, but I believe in praying the word of God for his glory and the good of his people. So to be transparent, I’m just gonna show you what I often pray over my me, my family, and my church . Have a great day!

Father, your word says that those who have clean hands and a pure heart, and don’t lift up their soul to what is false nor live deceitful lives will receive blessing from you and that you will give and fill them with your righteousness (Psalm 24:3-6), so help me be this man.

Father, your word also says that even though we may go through all kinds of opposing circumstances, you promise that your love shall never depart from us, that your peace shall not be removed, and that your compassion will always be upon us. Your word tells us that when we feel or have been afflicted, battered, and unnoticed, that you will rebuild us and strengthen our foundations, build us up, protect us, that you will teach and lead our children, and give them great peace. You promise to free us from oppression and fear, to protect us from those who are against us, and to stop those who come seeking our destruction and failure (Isaiah 54:10-17)…since these are your promises I pray your will be done in my family and through my family!

Father I thank you that your love is always surrounding us, and because of your love you are always making everything right and guiding us even when we mess up, and not only us, but our children as well, as we lead them into a love relationship with you. Since we have this confidence Father, please teach us to be wise with the time we have, to order our days around your kingdom purposes, so that we may be full of and an expression of your love, joy, and grace.

Father, for as often as we have seen failure, pain, and loneliness, would you let us dwell in your glory ten times as much, and make your will and work known to us so that we may enter it, not with passivity but with aggression and intentionality, so that we may first be about your will and your work, and as we do this, we ask you to establish the work that you have given us to do as a person, as a family, and as a church (Psalm 103:17-19 & 90:12-17). Father, fill us with the knowledge of your will, fill me with insight, understanding and discernment, so that I can be all you want me to be, I can be the man, the leader, the husband, the father, and the follower you have created me to be. Help me to live a life worthy of you, a life that is an altar to you, a life that bears the fruit of all you have created me to be, all the while being more and more intimate with you (Colossians 1:9-10) And as you do this, would you also speak through me, and anoint me to speak your words with power, grace, mercy, love, compassion, hope, and conviction would you embed your words in my heart and mind, and help us teach them to our children in such a way that they never leave their heart, that they become a road map and the guiding force of their life (Isaiah 59:21).

Father, as you continue to pour your love out on us, our children, and our church please help us to be so full and compelled by it that it begins to pour out of us onto humanity, so that they may see your greatness, and we may have more favor to do your will (Proverbs 3:3,4)

Father help me to delight myself in you, and as I do this help the desires of your heart to become the desires of my heart and help me to be full of your love, and help me to trust you completely. Make me know the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul…Keep steady my steps according to your promise, and let no iniquity or sin get dominion over me (Psalms 16:7 & 37:4 & 143:8 & 119:133).

Father you are my guiding light and our protector, and it is you who honors and lifts up, and your word says that you withhold nothing that is good from those who follow you, so Father teach me to know you and your way so that I may walk in your truth; unite my heart to fear your name…

Father teach me to walk blamelessly and do what is right and speak truth; help me to not speak slander nor do evil to my neighbor, nor take up reproach against my friends. Lord, teach me the way of your order; and I will keep it to the end. Give me understanding, that I may keep your law and observe it with my whole heart. Lead me in the path of your commandments, for I delight in it. (Psalm 84:11; 86:11,15; 119:33-35)

And as we live out your will and word, would you go before us and tear down the exalted places in our own lives, in our neighborhoods, in our culture and in our city, break to pieces the doors and chains that hold captive your people, and give to us the treasures of darkness and the masses in secret places, so that the world may see your greatness (Isaiah 45:2-3)—AMEN!

2 thoughts on “Praying Scripture for the Glory of God!

  1. Pingback: 2010 is on its way… « EmmausLife

Leave a Reply

