Januray 4th

I often feel the madness of not being in control, which is probably the perfect place for someone like me to be, but sometimes it is just hard.  When I get to these places I often doubt even my belief in God, probably because I often look to myself for the answer and the ‘right’ move… Today’s reading was like oil on that wound…

Today’s scripture reading was:

  • 1 Chronicles 3-5 – to be simplistic, if this reading does anything, it is to simply remind me of God’s faithfulness to his people
  • Psalm 73, 77-78 – to read these texts is just a reminder that David (us) is NEVER the hero, but God, and when we posture ourselves to make our name great, we end up loosing ourselves

Oh, that this would be my reaction to all that troubles, confuses and burdens me…that my first response would not be to figure it out, would not be to internalize it, but would be to go to the sanctuary of God:

Psalm 73:16-17 When I tried to understand all this, it troubled me deeply, till I entered the sanctuary of God; then I understood

If this was our natural reaction in times of burden, lack, confusion, ect, maybe, just maybe we would come to fully believe vs. 26:

My flesh and my heart may fail,
but God is the strength of my heart
and my portion forever.

Today’s reading from Common Prayer was: Psalm 18:29-31 and Exodus 3:1-12 (a very relevant read with the issues Sarah and I are venturing into) and John 6:35-42, 48-51 (a good reminder of where our food, energy, and vision must come from in this sort of work)

We’ll close out with a quote from Frederick Buechner:

A Christian is one who points at Christ and says, “I can’t prove a thing, but there’s something about his eyes and his voice.  There’s something about the way he carries his head, his hands, the way he carries his cross – the way he carries me.

 

Leave a Reply

