January 14th

As yesterday started with a portion of the prayer I try to pray a couple times a week, I will start with another portion today:

Father, fill us with the knowledge of your will, fill me with insight, understanding and discernment, so that I can be all you want me to be, I can be the man, the leader, the husband, the father, and the follower you have created me to be.  Help me to live a life worthy of you, a life that is an altar to you, a life that bears the fruit of all you have created me to be, all the while being more and more intimate with you (Colossians 1:9-10)

Daily Chronological reading: 2 Samuel 11-20; 1 Chronicles 20

  • I have to wonder if this is the very downfall of every leader that falls or compromises…at some point they believe they are a little better than the rest and therefore exalts them self above the rest, and ‘delegates’ their leadership to someone else, when they should be leading by example…this one verse sets the trajectory of the chapter
  • See some “politicking” going on in this chapter….
  • In light of David’s exaltation of self, God sends Nathan to remind David of who David is NOT and who God is…I have to ask myself, “Do I have a Nathan in my life, better yet, do I want a Nathan in my life?”  I know the right thing to say, the truth is, I think at this point in my life, I would run Nathan off..God, change my heart, I honestly believe David’s response to Nathan and his response to God’s judgment was very different than mine would be.
  • However out of all things in this chapter: David’s fall and God’s judgment, the one alarming part that shines out from it all, is God’s grace.

Common Prayer reading: Psalm 73:24-29; Nahum 2: Galatians 4:12-21

Psalm 73:24-26 – oh’ to really believe this and have this confidence:

You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will take me into glory (is there any other assurance we need, I don’t think so).
Whom have I in heaven but you? And earth has nothing I desire besides you.
My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

Here is a true, interesting, and somber thought by Twentieth-century Maryknoll sister Mollie Rogers wrote:

Love, work, prayer, and suffering will sustain us in the future as they have in the past. All who are here now, all who will come after us, will have no other tools than these with which to build.

Leave a Reply

