January 15th

Lately, I feel if God is doing a triad of things to me: (1) ripping me of me, I feel like every which way I turn God is revealing to me my own darkness, my own depravity, and my own self-worship…and so it feels so hard to fight, because it is so hard to not be angry at one’s self, most of me emotions seem to be eclipsed by this one point of the triad (2) yet, I feel like we are on new journeys walking into new territory (3) raising or strengthening convictions and vision for different elements

Chronological Reading: Psalm 32, 51, 86, 122

  • Like Luther said, we can’t break the bottom 8 commandments if we haven’t broken the first two already.  This is Davids statement in chapter 51, he would have known his proper place as king, and he would not have exalted himself…may we realize that our sins against others are only the result of our contempt for God

Common Prayer Reading: Psalm 78:1-3, 12-14; Nahum 3; Galatians 4:21-31

Martin Luther King, Jr. said this:

I have a dream that one day every valley shall be exalted, every hill and mountain shall be made low, that rough places will be made straight and the glory of the Lord shall be revealed and all flesh shall see it together.

May a heart of repentance always be before us, Psalm 51:9-13

Hide your face from my sins and blot out all my iniquity. Create in me a pure heart, O God,  and renew a steadfast spirit within me.  Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me. Then I will teach transgressors your ways, so that sinners will turn back to you.

Leave a Reply

