January 24th

Probably my favorite and most convicting statement in all of these texts:

…the king [David] replied to Araunah, “No, I insist on paying you for it. I will not sacrifice to the Lord my God burnt offerings that cost me nothing.”

Chronological Daily Reading: 2 Samuel 24; 1 Chronicles 21-22; Psalm 30

I see in David, the struggle that is constant in leaders today…fame, name, success, pride, change of motive…David is making decisions based on who he is as a king, what a ‘king’ is ‘supposed’ to do; what makes HIM look good…it reminds me of B.o.B’s song “Airplanes”.  I’m not going to explain the how the lyrics relate, but I’m guessing that you should be able to tell…

Somebody take me back to the days
Before this was a job, before I got paid
Before it ever mattered what I had in my bank
Yeah back when I was tryin’ to get a tip at subway
And back when I was rappin’ for the hell of it
But now a days we rappin’ to stay relevant
I’m guessin that if we can make some wishes outta airplanes
Then maybe yo maybe I’ll go back to the days
Before the politics that we call the rap game
And back when ain’t nobody listened to my mix tape
And back before I tried to cover up my slang
But this is for the decatur, what’s up Bobby Ray
So can I get a wish to end the politics
And get back to the music that started this shit

Jesus had a vision for his church and when it is littered with pride, claim to fame, a desire to make some sort of name for myself, and not the complete and utter glory of God, the point to God, the fame of God’s name…when we work things in such a way that we get the credit for His Church, aren’t we just “counting the army”?

Daily Reading for Common Prayer: Psalm 119:25-28; Zechariah 5; Ephesians 3:1-13

Without explaining too much, except to let it rest on our ears, I love Paul’s description of the the ‘why and what’ of the church out of Ephesians 3:10-11

His [God’s] intent was that now, through the church, the manifold wisdom of God should be made known to the rulers and authorities in the heavenly realms,  according to his eternal purpose that he accomplished in Christ Jesus our Lord.

 

Leave a Reply

