January 25th

Twentieth-century Russian Georges Florovsky wrote,

“Christianity entered history as a new social order, or rather a new social dimension. From the very beginning Christianity was not primarily a ‘doctrine,’ but exactly a ‘community.’ There was not only a ‘Message’ to be proclaimed and delivered, and ‘Good News’ to be declared. There was precisely a New Community, distinct and peculiar, in the process of growth and formation, to which members were called and recruited. Indeed, ‘fellowship’ (koinonia) was the basic category of Christian existence.”

Chronological Reading: Psalm 108-110

Common Prayer Reading: Psalm 119:73-76; Zechariah 6; Ephesians 3:14-21

Oh’ to have the understanding of Psalm 119:73-76:

Your hands made me and formed me;  give me understanding to learn your commands.
May those who fear you rejoice when they see me,  for I have put my hope in your word.
I know, LORD, that your laws are righteous, and that in faithfulness you have afflicted me.
May your unfailing love be my comfort, according to your promise to your servant.

I think my favorite line in this, which seems to be the very element that the rest flows from is, “Your hands made me and formed me;  give me understanding to learn your commands”  I think this is a statement of recognition, I think David is saying, God I recognize that it was you and you alone who has formed me, that being the case, if I try to gain understanding from anyone or anything above the very one who has formed me, who has formed my soul, my mind and even the way I get understanding, my understanding will be at best jaded, so, to start it all off, I come to you God to help me to gain understanding of the commands from the heart of the one who has formed me…

Let us end with this prayer:

Lord, when one of us hungers, make it our instinct to feed. When one of us is displaced, make it our instinct to share our home. When one of us is called illegal, make it our instinct to advocate for our sister’s rights. May we find our peace in the peace of the places to which you have called us. Amen.

Leave a Reply

