January 27th

May we live as if this were true:

You have searched me, Lord, and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you, Lord, know it completely. You hem me in behind and before, and you lay your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain. Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.

Chronological Reading for the Day: Psalm 131, 138-139, 143-145

  • 139:23 “Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.”  Needs to be my heart prayer, every day and every night…I feel I struggle with this a lot lately, being anxious that is.  The Hebrew here is translated, ‘disquieting thoughts‘ – I feel like lately I swim in thoughts that could lie under that title, ‘disquieting.’  I feel sometimes I am balancing so many plates, that the question is not “if one will fall” rather, “when one will fall” and when it does, “will it be a big one or not” – there are many times I just want to tap-out, sale all we have, pack up my family and go live under the radar for a while, and then their are times I feel like king of the hill and ready to fight the good fight, it seems the ‘disquieting thoughts’ are slowly winning..
  • One curious take away or question I have, when reading David, is that he seemed to believe his greatest enemy was his military foes, and maybe they were.  But for me, my greatest foe is me…

Common Prayer Reading: Psalm 126:1-4; Zechariah 8; Ephesians 4:17-32

  • what if we actually did this,
    • Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen
    • Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice…
    • Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.
One thought on “January 27th

  1. Here again is a question that I have pondered for sometime and it seems the subject kind of evolves with the current cultural norm of communication….what is “wholesome talk”? Is it really elusive or so yesterday? What if christian actually measured his speech and carefully chose his adjectives: would he indeed, with respect to Father God, talk differently?

Leave a Reply

