January 29th

The prayer of my heart today is:

Father, create in me a clean heart, and renew a my spirit, make me into your image, mold me to be like you.

Chronological Reading for the day: Psalm 111-118

Common Prayer Daily Reading: Psalm 139:13-16; Zechariah 10; Ephesians 5:15-33

  • what a command to start the day off with: Eph 5:15-17 – Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is.

20th Century writer, Flannery O’Connor said,

I think there is no suffering greater than what is caused by the doubts of those who want to believe.  I know what torment this is, but I can only see it, in myself anyway, as the process by which faith is deepened.  What people don’t realize is how much religion costs.  They think faith is a big electric blanket, when of course it is the cross.

Leave a Reply

