January 30th

Today is the day of the 3M half-marathon.  A few years ago, this whole half-marathon thing was nothing more than a challenge from one of our non-profit partners in the city, but it has become much more than that, it is has become a very worshipful, if not the most spiritual event I do all year…If you want to see what I wrote on it, click on the following link: RUNNING.  Anyway, it is very exciting to start the day out this way, but I won’t be finished after the run – after running one of my other favorite days of the year starts, Serve Austin Sunday…for me, this is one of the best ways to spend a day…

Chronological Reading for the Day: 1 Kings 1-2; Psalm 37, 71, 94

  • 1 Kings 2:2-3 – what a charge for our sons, “be strong, act like a man, and observe what the Lord your God requires: Walk in obedience to him, and keep his decrees and commands, his laws and regulations, as written in the Law of Moses. Do this so that you may prosper in all you do and wherever you go
  • 1 Kings 2:13-46 seems like a scene right out of the Godfather
  • What words of wisdom, “do not fret—it leads only to evil.

Common Prayer Reading: Psalm 146:4-8, Zechariah 12-14; Ephesians 6

I have essentially done one month of daily blogs in my quite time, and while this has been great, I have to stop.  I have to stop because I find myself focusing on getting the ‘job done’ as opposed to just meditating and praying over God’s word and what He may be saying to me.  I have to stop, because I can’t worry about getting it posted, rather I must focus on what God is breaking me of…I will continue to journal, but it will be on that old fashion stuff we call “ink and paper”.  I will continue to read, in fact, I would ask you, “join me, start your own chronological plan, you can do it for free online at You Version.  If you want to follow along in the book of Common Prayer: A Liturgy for Ordinary Radicals, you can do that ONLINE or you can buy the BOOK.  If the Common Prayer isn’t your thing, then go for something like, The Imitation of Christ, or Valley of Vision, or Dark Night of the Soul…or something that fits you better…but whatever you do, commit yourself to love God through a devoted time of prayer and word…”

On that note, more than likely, unless I have some great epiphany while in my devotions, I may post that, but for the most part, I will return to using this site as a blog site only.

So, to close this online journal, let me go back to January 3rd while reflecting on Psalm 45:4, when I said, My thought for the day, and hopefully for the year is

I wonder, in 2011, what our lives may look like if we were committed to establishing these three pillars in our lives: truth, humility, and justice…what would this look like.

May we spend 2011 figuring that out…

grace and truth,

Matthew

One thought on “January 30th

Leave a Reply

