12 years of memories…

what do I remember most from the past 12 years…

…I remember the first time I saw your legs on June 9th, 1995…I was hooked, I also remember telling Julian in 1996, “one day, I’m gonna marry that girl…” – grant it, that was more than 12 years ago, but that’s where it started for me, and while a lot has changed for that boy and girl in Morocco, it’s one of the best memories I have…

…I remember taking a road trip with some of the best friends a person could have, and I made sure one of our stops was your front door.  When we pulled in front of your house, i took one look at you sitting on the porch, leaned over to Bill and said, “that’s the one”…

…I remember, still after all that time you weren’t convinced I was it, and I didn’t know what to do, so your mom (a.k.a best mother-in-law a guy could asked for) called me all the way down in Austin to let me know, “she loved me, was praying, and asked me just to give you space, and you’d come around“…and you did

…I remember planning a surprise engagement, but Mr. Fed Ex showed up not only on the wrong day, but while you were at home.  So, I jumped out of bed, still in my boxers and ran down stairs, no shoes on, ran out the front door into the snow, just so Mr. Fed Ex wouldn’t ring the doorbell.  The whole time your dad was in the kitchen, and never told me I was weird… (hand’s down – best father-in-law ever)

…I remember our amazing wedding, our great honeymoon in Spain, and learning how you would react when you found out I left ALL my credit cards in the U.S….

…I remember the night you laid in bed crying asking me not to take that youth pastor job, I did anyway, and that forever taught me the importance of listening to the wisdom of my wife…although, the silver lining is that we made some of the best friends we could have wished for in Jeff and Holly…I mean who else would have snuck through the snow with us so no one would report to the pastor, who banned us from the church and our friends, that we were still hanging out…

…I remember making the decision (this time with you) to move to Austin in order to go back to school, only to find out you were pregnant, I was jobless, and we had a mortgage, two car payments, and a mom who reminded us we didn’t have insurance to cover the pregnancy (which to be fair, she is the best mom I could ask for, and has been an amazing nana for the past 10 years)…

…I remember watching you watch Serena the first night you had her, I was thinking, “I didn’t think I could love her more than I already did, and seeing her now as a mom, I do

…I remember rushing home from work because of your phone call letting me know you were in serious pain.  I remember walking in our bedroom to find you as white as a ghost…I remember taking you to have that emergency surgery, and I remember feeling fear for the first time that we might loose the baby…and today Ashton is here and you are fine…

…I remember laying floors in my mom’s house, only to have you come in late one night and say, “I think my water broke, but I’m not sure, because I’ve never had that happen.”  I remember being very excited driving to the hospital that night to have our third, Eden…

I remember the fear we wrestled with every time we went to get the blood count

for Elie; I remember every time we had to consider a full body blood transfusion for her; I remember that week in the hospital with Elie, not knowing what was going to happen to her, but more than anything in that week, I remember walking in to our hospital room after going out to get something to eat, finding

first UT Game

you not worried for Elie, but praying and praising God in the midst of this, that was the most beautiful sight I had ever seen…

….I remember standing near the Bosphorus, when the thought hit, “the dream of going back to school that Sarah give up so long ago…it is time for her to go back to school…”

…I remember all the support you gave me, and all the times you believed in me,

First Day of School

when I didn’t believe in myself through all the ups-and-downs of our first years in the ministry…

…I remember the day you received your acceptance letter from UT…

I have so many other memories, that this page could not contain, but I look forward to a million more and another amazing 12 years…

I am so blessed to be married to such an amazing “Tough Mudder”

Leave a Reply

